jump to navigation

Flash Fiction: Enter the Grimm October 2, 2009

Posted by techtigger in flash fiction.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This story is the first of a weekly series, updated every friday.


It was midnight, and Nox was in a graveyard that had been built over the crossroads of an old stagecoach trail.  She had flax seeds clenched in one hand to keep down the unquiet dead, only a flick of the wrist was needed to scatter them over a grave. Not that they would work on the one she was here to see, he was neither dead, nor entirely alive.  But she knew his name.  And she knew he would answer her call.

“Grimmalkyn.” 

Near the gate a vague shape formed, barely visible under the dim light of the stars.  The church grimm was here, guardian of the paths between the living and the dead. And he was playing hard to get.  Her aura crackled with the intensity of the energy she put into the call.

“Grimmalkyn, show yourself!”

A slight breeze ruffled her hair, and a mix of amusement and annoyance flickered in her dark blue eyes.  He’d always had a flair for the dramatic (or melodramatic, as she had often teased) and this place certainly fit the bill. 

“Grimm, if you don’t get your furry butt out here I am going to eat all of these doughnuts myself.”

The deep, rumbling voice of the grimm echoed in the back of her mind.  “You know the rules, call thrice and I shall appear.   Or bring doughnuts.  I see you did both, well played.”  The massive, spectral hound appeared right in front of her and sniffed at the bag in her hand. “Ooh, boston crème!”

Nox rolled her eyes.  “Yes, you bottomless pit, I brought your favorite.”  She pulled them back away from him as he tried to eat them, bag and all.  “Ah, ah, wait for it, I have something even better.”

His ears perked up. “News?”

She nodded. “News.  It seems my father thinks I’ll be needing you more than he does. Apparently I pissed off some pretty hard-core cultists.”

He made another unsuccessful attempt to snatch the bag, and glared sourly at her. “You? Irritate someone? Never.”  He heaved a long-suffering sigh.  “Well then, transfer the binding and I am yours to command.”

She opened up the bag and set it down in front of him, the sweet, sugary smell making his nose twitch.  “I, Nox, bind myself to you, guardian Grimmalkyn, but only if you choose to allow it.” She grinned impishly at him. “What do you say?”

He eyedher warily. “Those are not the words. What are you up to, little one?”

“I refuse to bind a friend. As of this moment, you are free of any debts due to my family.”

The ancient spirit gave the tiny woman a long look.   He could already feel the old bonds slipping away, and something new and unusual begin to form. She wasn’t joking, he was actually free!   And she had called him a friend… Well, there was a first time for everything. Why not?  And with Nox, his half-life would never be dull.  He snapped up the doughnuts, thoughtfully leaving one for her. “Your father is going to kill you for this.”

She shrugged and picked up the last doughnut.  “Only if the cultists don’t get me first.”

He chuckled, standing protectively by her side.  “No fear of that, little one.  Not while I’m with you.” 


       Next –>

Comments»

1. ganymeder - October 2, 2009

Cool! I really liked this one!

It seemed so dark and ominous and then…there were doughnuts. Just perfect. Keep up the good work!!!

2. Clive Martyn - October 2, 2009

Welcome to #fridayflash. Very well written debut piece – lovely imagery all the way through particularly the doughnut loving grimm.

3. Twitter Trackbacks for Flash Fiction: Enter the Grimm « Techtiggers' Soapbox [techtigger.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com - October 2, 2009

[…] Flash Fiction: Enter the Grimm « Techtiggers' Soapbox techtigger.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/flash-fiction-enter-the-grimm – view page – cached It was midnight, and Nox was in a graveyard that had been built over the crossroads of an old stagecoach trail. She had flax seeds clenched in one hand to keep down the unquiet dead, only a flick of… (Read more)It was midnight, and Nox was in a graveyard that had been built over the crossroads of an old stagecoach trail. She had flax seeds clenched in one hand to keep down the unquiet dead, only a flick of the wrist was needed to scatter them over a grave. Not that they would work on the one she was here to see, he was neither dead, nor entirely alive. But she knew his name. (Read less) — From the page […]

4. Marisa Birns - October 2, 2009

Boston Creme doughnuts were my favorite when I was growing up!

Well done imagery throughout your lovely story.

Welcome!

5. ~Tim - October 2, 2009

Very nice — and not just because I love Boston Creme doughnuts too. I like the contrast between the sweets and the grimm.

6. Christy Dominique Gibson - October 2, 2009

Is this a part of a larger work? Because i want more like now. I really love this. Please add more…

techtigger - October 2, 2009

Yes, this is a bit of back story from my WIP – thought it would be fun to post some of the peices that’ll probably never make it into the final manuscript. So there will be more 🙂

Glad you liked it!

7. Monica - October 2, 2009

I like this. It also made me want to hear more about Nox and Grimm. 🙂

8. mazzz_in_Leeds - October 3, 2009

This is cool!
The way she reverses the binding is very touching.
I very much like both characters, and want to hear more about these cultists. and Nox’s dad’s history with the grimm

9. J. M. Strother - October 3, 2009

I liked it a lot. The interplay between the two works very well. And the line, “You know the rules, call thrice and I shall appear. Or bring doughnuts, ” is priceless.
~jon

10. Laura Eno - October 3, 2009

This was great! A donut-loving Grimm. Welcome to #fridayflash!

11. suzie bradshaw - October 3, 2009

That was really good! Yes, I want to know more also. Very endearing characters. And donuts…fantastic!

12. soesposito - October 4, 2009

Okay, now I seriously want a donut! Interesting characters, like the interjected humor also. Welcome!

13. Chris Chartrand - October 4, 2009

I’ll jump on the bandwagon too. I really liked this. You gave us an instant reason to like your protag. Now I can’t wait to read more. Glad you posted to #fridayflash

14. shadowsinstone - October 4, 2009

I love this! It started out all eerie and cemetery-ish, but donuts? O.o I’m looking forward to more from you!

15. Eric Krause - October 8, 2009

Very nice. A bodyguard is always better as a friend instead of a “paycheck” anyway.

16. Kaite (@TheBusyMystic) - October 9, 2009

OK – I SOOO loved this one! I loved everything about it! I’m not generally a magical fiction reader, but I would read the whole whole whole book, cover to cover, if this were the first chapter of their many adventures! And I would read it right away, and not let anything interrupt me! That was a pleasure!! Please write the rest of the book immediately! I’m cranky that I can’t just go buy it right now!

17. Flash Fiction – Home Sweet Home « Techtiggers' Soapbox - October 9, 2009

[…] in flash fiction. Tags: #fridayflash, flash ficton trackback This story is part of a series.  Click Here to read the first episode. “We’re being […]

18. David G Shrock - November 18, 2009

A fun engaging introduction. Nice exchange between these characters.

19. donnacarrick - February 4, 2010

I’ll definitely be tuning in to read more about Nox & Grimm in The Penny Dreadful!
Donna

20. Walt - August 4, 2010

“You know the rules, call thrice and I shall appear. Or bring doughnuts.” Such a perfect line for the guardian of the path between life and death. LOL

Having been introduced to this serial recently, I thought I’d come back and read it from the beginning. I had no idea there were so many, this is going to be a lot of fun!

21. Xanto - September 2, 2010

This is definitely something I plan on reading! 1 down, 51 to go! (as of September 2nd)

22. W.G. Cambron - September 7, 2011

I know I’m late to the party but this seems very good.
I read the backstory, about the church grim, and I love this idea. I see you took a hold of the lore and ran with it. Great start to what I expect to be a great series!

techtigger - September 7, 2011

welcome aboard! I’m always thrilled to have new readers stop by 🙂 feel free to drop me a line on twitter @techtigger or google plus +Angie Capozello if you have any questions, or just want to chat about the series. Hope you have fun reading them!

23. Peter Newman - September 30, 2011

This looks like a lot of fun and ticks lots of my happy boxes. I like the sense of history that’s conjured between the characters.


Leave a comment