jump to navigation

Nanowrimo – the annual madness returns! October 29, 2012

Posted by techtigger in NaNoWriMo, writing.
trackback

It’s that time again, when writers everywhere start stocking up on enough caffeine and chocolate to survive a month-long writing binge…NaNoWriMo… (cue ominous music…)

I haven’t done this seriously in years, I’ve just been too darned busy. But this year I actually have a project to get done and NaNo will be the perfect way to motivate me to get things going.  When asked by Maria Kelly, “How do you plan for NaNo?” My answer was, “I don’t!”  🙂  But she said, write a blog post about that anyway!, so here it is!

I know there are a lot of plotters out there. They outline, they color code their sticky notes, they plan to the n’th degree. Sadly, I am not that organized. You see, I am a visual person. I need to ‘see’ the scene in my head, and when I see it clearly, I know I’ve got it nailed. Since I can’t tack sticky notes to my brain, (okay, i could but you have to admit it’s not a good idea) and I’ve never stuck to any outline i’ve ever written, I am trying to think of a way to plan ahead without actually writing outlines or getting anywhere near a chart or binder.  So then it hit me – why not story board it?

I do this all the time for video shoots at work. I make little sketches with notes on camera angle, set dressing, etc. I can even toss in a line or two of text if i think of something particularly amusing.  (… Virgil thumped the metal side of the black hawk helicopter and yelled over the noise of the rotors, “You wanna know what’s wrong? I’m going to Hell in a mil-spec handbasket!”…)

I have no idea if this will work, but I’m willing to try anything once. And that’s what NaNoWriMo is all about, just tossing things out there and seeing what you can do.  I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂

Good luck to all of you who are joining in the madness!

-Angie

Comments»

1. ganymeder - October 29, 2012

I’m ganymeder on the Nano site if you want to be ‘Writing Buddies.’ I need to outline ahead, otherwise I loose direction and forget what comes next. But my outlines are just phrases pointing me in the right direction: no numbers, no captial letters, no organization other than the general direction I want to the plot to go.

This year I haven’t had much time to even do that. I’m trying to do a rough outline in the next couple days, and finish up any other writing I need to do so I can concentrate just on NANOWRIMO.

The story board sounds intriguing. I’ll be interested to hear how that turns out!

See ya’ there!

techtigger - October 29, 2012

cool, i’ll add you as a writing buddy 🙂 I will let you know how it goes, storyboarding may end up being more of a distraction than a help, but it can’t hurt to try it, right? 😀

2. nishi - October 29, 2012

This is not madness…. THIS IS SPARTAHHH!

techtigger - October 29, 2012

ROTFLMAO!!!!

3. Maria Kelly - October 31, 2012

I think storyboarding is a great idea. So is pantsing it. I pants a lot… But I’ve been trying to get my storylines more organized lately. I need to when writing longer stuff.

Good luck with your novel!


Leave a Reply

