jump to navigation

Flash Fiction – Combat Couture February 26, 2011

Posted by techtigger in flash fiction.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This flashfic is part of an ongoing web serial, updated every week as a part of #fridayflash on twitter.  If you are new to Nox and Grimm, you can Click Here to read from the beginning.

Sorry about the two week hiatus!  Hopefully this one will make up for it  –  I know I had fun writing it 🙂  Without further ado, lets move on to the story…


Nox was alone in her dressing room, making slow progress at getting ready for the trial.  The maids were all busy with the guests, and she had decided that Loki’s dubious offer to help would not get her dressed any faster.

Grimm was out in the parlour of her suite, sprawled on a couch with a book between his paws. By now the hound was a veteran of the chaos that surrounded her while she prepared for an official appearance, and he weathered the flurry of activity with his usual stoicism.

Eventually she came out in a gown that glittered with frost, and twirled around with her arms out. “So, what do you think?”

He rolled his eyes.  “I think you should have learned by now not to ask me about fashion.  My knowledge only covers ‘are you dressed,’ and ‘does it smell clean?’ This one gets a yes on both counts.”

Nox walked over and put a sleeve under his nose.  “Take a closer look. I’ve been wanting to field test this dress for a while.”

He gave her an odd look, but humored her by inspecting it. The frost lay over a pale blue fabric that was woven with matching patterns.  That was when it hit him – every inch of it was woven with the intricate lines of an elemental casting.  He recoiled, his ears flat.  “Are you insane!  No, don’t answer that, I know you are.  What happens if it gets torn? Or if the weaver missed a thread? You have enough linked castings on that thing to blow this whole room to dust!”

“Relax, furball,” she said, holding up her hands to fend off the torrent of questions. “It wasn’t woven, it was grown.  This is one of my side-projects with House Flora.  They have been safely growing trees with castings in them for centuries. Remember the ones that formed the palisade around waypost? All I did was challenge them to come up with a different shape. It’s just like tree bark. There are no seams or hems, and the fibers are all grown in overlapping patterns. If it gets torn, the energy flows around the break and I can simply mend it with a cantrip.”

“All right,” he said, only slightly mollified, “but do you have to be the one field test it? You are turning my fur grey.”

She put her hands on her hips. “Didn’t you just tell my parents not to molly coddle me?”

He started to reply, then grumbled “Damn you and your  logic.” He shook his head and gave an amused a snort. “I can’t wait to see what happens if you sell the patent for this.  The guards will have to strip-search every politician before they enter the Convocation Hall to make sure they don’t have a war casting sewn into their underpants.”

Nox giggled.  “I hadn’t thought of that. I’ll be the first dress shop owner to be accused of war profiteering.   I can sell lacy underthings of DOOM!”

Grimm groaned. “Now there is an image I didn’t need stuck in my head.”

“What are friends for?” she quipped. “Seriously though, selling my inventions isn’t a bad idea. I already pay for my experiments that way, and we are going to need a fortune to rebuild the House of Winds.  Trust me, I’ve seen the budget to keep up this mansion. It’s obscene.”

“And we have an entire city to rebuild,” he sighed.  “If we fund it with ballistic bustiers though, I may die of shame before we get too far.”

She patted the hound’s paw.”I’m sure I can come up with something more dignified.”

“Please do.” He eyed up the dress again. “I suppose we had better test it now, while I am right here and ready to shield you.  For what that’s worth, considering you are wearing it.”

They both paused as a knock came at the door, and Loki let himself in.  “What are we testing?”

“Projectile panties,” Nox said, and burst into gales of laughter at the look on Grimm’s muzzle.

“Count me in!” Loki said, and spun a chair around to sit with his arms on the back.  “Fire away!”

Grimm buried his head in his paws. “More mental images I didn’t need. Owww.”

Nox needed both hands to lift up one of his paws, so that she could peer under it.  “I’m sorry Grimm, I’ll behave now,” she said, but she was still grinning.  “We’ll start with a basic ice shield, and work from there, okay?”

“I need some mental floss first. Oww…”

“I think I broke him,” she said to Loki.

“He’ll get over it. Now I, on the other hand, am always ready to discuss flinging panties.”

Grimm made a strangling sound. “Can we please get this field test over with?”

“Okay, okay,” Nox said.  “One ice shield, coming up…”


<–Previous Back to Start Next->

Comments»

1. Julie (Okami) - February 26, 2011

so glad to have Grimm and Nox back – I really missed them these past two weeks. Hope all is well with you.

techtigger - February 27, 2011

doing much better now, had a crazy two weeks at the dayjob. But I am back, and my muse is working overtime to catch up 🙂

2. ganymeder - February 26, 2011

Oh, this one was too funny! And Loki’s such a lech… Love it!

techtigger - February 27, 2011

heheh, yes, he is completely shameless. But would you expect anything else from fire? 😀

3. mgideon - February 26, 2011

“are you dressed” and “does it smell clean?” I’m with Grimm. My thoughts exactly. This was fun! I’ll have to go and read it from the beginning when I get the chance. I really like the voice of this piece. Nice work!

techtigger - February 27, 2011

Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it! Having seen my dh pick up clothes and sniff them to decide if they was wearable, I decided I’d have a little fun with that 😀

Welcome aboard, and feel free to ping me on twitter, i’m always happy to chat about the series, or writing in general. @techtigger

4. Mari Juniper - February 27, 2011

Bwahahahhahaha! You’re tottaly forgiven, Angie! 😀

techtigger - February 27, 2011

hee, thanks! The stories have been too serious lately, time to change things up a bit 🙂


Leave a Reply

