jump to navigation

Flash Fiction – 12 Hours Part 6 January 13, 2011

Posted by techtigger in flash fiction.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This micro-fic is part of an ongoing web serial, which will be updated every hour today from noon till midnight, when the regular weekly #fridayflash gets posted.  If you are new to Nox and Grimm, you can Click Here to read from the beginning.


The whinny of horses and the clanking of armor announced the return of the troops.  Nox rubbed at her eyes and set down her notes as Kel entered the mausoleum.

“Greetings, Lady Ice,” he teased.

“Don’t start Kel, it wasn’t my idea,” she snapped at him.

He scowled at her. “I didn’t say it was.  But let’s face it, Lucien still favors you as his heir.”

Nox glared back at him. “There is a mansion full of people who are going to die in the next few hours, and all I have to work with is this.” She threw the partially translated notes at him.  “Do you think I give a rats’ ass about who ends up as heir?”

He gave the notes a bewildered look. “Brand said you were whipping up a solution.”

“What, did you think I’d tell the troops that their fearless leader hasn’t got a clue? That’d go over well.”

“Where’s your father?” he said, handing the notes back to her.

“He won’t leave mother’s side. She stayed awake long enough to try and write instructions.”

“Damn, I’m sorry Nox. I thought it was just a few guests being quarantined.”

“Why should that make any difference?” She turned her back on him. “If you’re so hot to play at being Lord of the House, go do it.  I’ll get more done if I don’t have to deal with administrative crap every few minutes.”

He sighed, his anger gone as quickly as it appeared. “Okay, I’m an ass, I admit it. Sleep deprivation does not bring out the best in me.”  He gave her a crooked smile. “Neither do you, for that matter. It’s a good thing they didn’t force us to get married. Between your temper, and my ego, it would have been a complete disaster!”

She let out an amused snort. “I think that’s the only thing we’ve ever agreed on.”

<– Back to 12 Hours Part 5 —  Continue to 12 Hours Part 7 –>

Comments»

1. ganymeder - January 13, 2011

Cool short!

techtigger - January 14, 2011

Thank you!:)

2. Sam Adamson - January 14, 2011

I just love Nox!

techtigger - January 14, 2011

isn’t she fun! I love writing this character 🙂


Leave a Reply

