jump to navigation

Flash Fiction – The Stand-off January 16, 2010

Posted by techtigger in flash fiction.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This story is part of a weekly series, updated every friday. Click Here to read from the beginning. 


Lucien motioned Grimm away from the door to the vault with his sword. “I don’t know what hold you have over my daughter, or what oaths you may have made her swear, but you will release her from them.”

 “I can’t.”  The ghostly hound eyed up the sword, weighing his options. 

 “Can’t, or won’t?”    

 Grimm paced back and forth, but Lucien stayed between him and the vault door.  Which meant he was between Grimm and Nox.   “I can’t, and you know it.  Everything she has done was of her own free will. Nox is as stubborn as you are, she won’t change her mind. She insists that she can break my curse.”

 Lucien slashed at Grimm’s throat.  “It will destroy her! Galen himself couldn’t break the curse, he died trying. You would sacrifice my only child for nothing!” 

 Grimm just barely managed to dodge the blade. The room was crowded with chairs and tables, eventually he would have to dematerialize to avoid a blow. There would be a moment during the transition when he would be vulnerable – and Lucien knew it. The only thing Grimm could do was stall for time, and hope Nox found that book she wanted so they could get out of here. “We do not need to fight.  Put the sword down, and we’ll talk.”

 “We are done talking, Grimmalkyn. You will release her from her oath, or I will make you let her go.” Lucien stepped forward, and the temperature in the room dropped as he gathered in power.  Ice formed along the blade, and energy wrapped around his fists.

 Grimm crouched low, hackles up and growling, waiting to see where the attack would come from. 

 Neither of them expected it to come from Nox. 

 The whole room lit up with the electric blue energy of her aura, blinding them after peering so long through the darkness. By the time they could see again, Nox was standing next to Grimm with her aura shield glimmering around them.  “You want a fight, father, you’ll have to take us both on. And you know that won’t end well.”

 “For once in your life, daughter, you need to listen to me. Get away from him!”  Lucien said, a mix of anger and worry in his eyes.

 “No way. I am going to set Grimm free of both his curse, and these chains. I won’t be foresworn.”

 Grimm and Lucien spoke at the same time.  “What chains?”

 Nox resisted the urge to smack her forehead, having just had the same conversation hours before with Grimm.  “Déjà vu.  Look, you’re both going to have to trust me.  Grimm keeps forgetting everything about them, and no one else can see them.”  She held up her hands to forestall their questions.  “Hear me out, please.”

 Lucien kept his sword trained on Grimm.  “I have read every book in that vault, and there is nothing in there about chains.”

 Nox gave him a wry smile.  “No, but Lord Galen did mention what they were connected to.  Grimm is trapped somewhere between life and death, he needs an anchor to hold him here on earth. His anchor used to be the graveyard.  I expected him to take off when I set him free from service to us, but he stayed with me.”

 Nox winced as she saw the dawning look of horror on her father’s face. “I miscalculated.  I didn’t really set him free, I just changed the spell’s focus.”  She gave her father a helpless little shrug. “I’m his anchor now.  No one ever wrote about the chains, because he was never anchored to a person before.  They couldn’t see them.”

 Grimm’s ears flicked backwards, then forward again. “I remember feeling a connection to you that day. It was so faint though, I didn’t pay any attention to it.”

 “It’s subtle, but it’s there.  I’m afraid our fates are bound together, for good or ill.” Nox said.

 Grimm gave her a big, doggy grin. “I can think of worse things to have happen.”

 Lucien still looked bleak.  “So can I.”  He went into the vault, and came back out with an ancient journal. He held it out to Nox.  “I will lend this to you on one condition  – you cannot let Grimm read it.  I ask this for his sake, as much as your own.  You will understand when you read it.  And when you are done, and have questions, come to see me.”

Nox took the book from him, curiosity warring with trepidation. Anything that upset her father’s legendary calm was worth worrying about.  “What’s in here?”

“Answers.”


<–Previous                          Back to Start                   Next->

Comments»

1. David Shrock - January 16, 2010

Exciting. Bound together is better until they find freedom.

2. ganymeder - January 16, 2010

Yay! Another chapter in the series! I can’t wait to find out what the ‘answers’ are.

3. Marisa Birns - January 16, 2010

Fates bound together for good or evil. Now I understand further their connection.

Can’t wait for Nox to get the answers!

4. Mariana N. Blaser - January 17, 2010

And the waiting begins again. You’re making me suffer Angie, heh. 😉

5. Linda - January 17, 2010

Went back and read the last one (somehow missed) — great stuff here. Peace, Linda

6. Laura Eno - January 17, 2010

Yay! Another chapter! I can’t wait to discover what’s in that book!

I think you’re missing a word here: dawning look (of) horror

techtigger - January 18, 2010

thanks for the catch! Had one other thing pointed out, Lucien had the book in his hand last episode. This is what I get for revising that late at night! *lol*

7. Walt - August 20, 2010

I’m so intrigued by what Grimm isn’t supposed to find out.

8. Xanto - September 3, 2010

Let the puppy read the book!


Leave a Reply

