jump to navigation

I am not going to win NaNoWriMo October 29, 2009

Posted by techtigger in NaNoWriMo.
trackback

And it’s okay.  No really, it’s perfectly okay. 

Life has conspired to keep me very busy this fall – I barely have time to work on 1000 word flash fiction stories each week, and my day job is about to get even crazier than usual. 

Add to that I’ve picked a concept that is going to require research, and you’ve got a perfect storm for not reaching 50,000 words by November 30th.  

Am I crazy?  Well, let’s just say the nice young men in their clean white coats will be taking me away as soon as I finish this blog post. 

Seriously though, when I signed up for NaNoWriMo again, I didn’t do it with winning in mind.  For me, the annual sprint has always been about learning.  The first time around I only managed 13000 words.  I learned that writing a first draft wasn’t about agonizing over making each line perfect, it’s all about getting words and ideas onto paper.

Last year I won (barely) but I also learned how to manage my time and set writing goals.  In the year since then I’ve learned how to edit that rough draft, write back story, plan story arcs, and a whole lot more.  Some of the fruits of that labor have made their way into my flash fiction, which still needs some work but I’m learning more every day.

This year my goal is to tackle research, and to write for a younger audience.  My concept is a collection of fairytales about the constellations, told by the stars themselves.  There will be a frame story, wherein the travelers (falling stars) meet to exchange tales.  Should be fun, though goodness knows it’s probably a year-long project, not a 30 day sprint.  

Who knows?  Maybe I’ll surprise myself like I did last year, and fall so far in love with the story that I can’t stop pouring out words.  But if I don’t, it’s okay.  For me, the whole NaNoWriMo experience is a win.

Comments»

1. lavenderlines - October 29, 2009

That’s a great attitude to have going into NaNoWriMo. I haven’t written anything in months, so for me, NaNo this year is about getting my writing grove back.

Best of luck!

2. Vicki - October 29, 2009

It’s good to win, but even better to be more realistic about your writing goals. Good luck with how much you get done this NaNo!

3. Heather Justesen - October 29, 2009

I know I’ve started Nano in the past and life has severely interrupted mid-month, so I didn’t ‘win’ but I got a lot of words on the paper before the interruption, so it was still well worth while. This year I’m not starting a whole new project, I’m ripping apart two finished (very badly written) books and putting them back together as one–if I get 50,000 words through that process in November, I’ll consider that a win!

4. wrightwriter - October 29, 2009

I’m not worrying about winning Nano. My sole intention is to revive a daily writing habit and have more words written at the end of the month than I started with. I’ve been struggling for a story idea and I think I’ve finally found something that will carry me through 30 days of writing. Can’t wait to start!

5. Kim Priestap - October 30, 2009

You’ve got a very healthy attitude. That’s half the battle, right?

This is my first go-round with NaNoWriMo, so I won’t sweat it if I don’t win.


Leave a Reply

